Council Members

Council (2013-2017)


Screen Shot 2014-03-17 at 12.33.44 PM
President Dr. Anna Lartey

Associate Professor
Department of Nutrition and Food Science
University of Ghana
Ghana. West Africa
Phone/Fax: 233-21-513294

Member Alfredo Martínez
President-Elect Prof. J. Alfredo Martínez

Catedrático de Nutrición
Departamento de Fisiología y Nutrición
Universidad de Navarra, Edificio de Investigación
C/Irunlarrea, 1
31008 Pamplona
Tel: (34) 948-425600 ext. 6424
Fax: (34) 948-425649

Helmut Heseker
Treasurer Helmut Heseker

c/o Institute of Nutrition, Consumption & Health
Faculty of Natural Sciences
University Paderborn
D-33095 Paderborn
Tel: + 49 (0) 5251-603835


Vice-President Prof. V. Prakash

Distinguished Scientist of CSIR-INDIA, Mysore, INDIA
Director of Research, Developement, Management & Innovation at JSS -MVP
Chairman,Center of Excellence of Nutraceuticals and Nutritionals at JSS MVP, Mysore, INDIA
Task Force Chairman on Nutraceuticals in IUNS.
Address: JSS Technical Institutions, Mysore, INDIA 570 006

Tel: +91 821 2548 307
Fax : +91 821 2541 311

Secretary General Prof. Catherine Geissler

Professor Emerita of Human Nutrition
King's College London
President, The Nutrition Society
Address: 155 Portland Road
London W11 4LR
Tel: +44 (0) 207 229 4586


Council Members

Member Godwin D
Dr. Godwin D. Ndossi, PhD

Consultant Nutritionist
Chairman, Tanzania National Health Research Forum
P.O. Box 22451, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.
Mobile Phone: +255 754 310 586
Fax: +255 22 2121360

Screen Shot 2014-02-12 at 2.52.03 PM
Prof Andrew M. Prentice, PhD, FMedSci

MRC International Nutrition Group,
London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine,
Keppel Street, LONDON, WC1E 7HT

& MRC Keneba, The Gambia
Tel: +44 (0)20 7958 8125
Fax: +44 (0)20 7958 8111


Swapan Kumar Roy
Dr. Swapan Kumar Roy

Institute of Public Health (IPH)
Mohakhali, Dhaka-1212,
Tel: + 880-2-9860801, 881-37-34, 883-11-34
Fax: + 880-2-9860801


Teruo Miyazawa
Prof. Teruo Miyazawa

Professor of Food and Nutrition, Graduate School of Agricultural Science;
Project Leader and Professor of Food Biotechnology Innovation, NICHe Institute;
Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan
Tel: +81-22-717-8904
Fax: +81-22-717-8905

Lynette Neufeld
Lynnette M. Neufeld, Phd

Micronutrient Initiative, Department of International Health,
Rollins School of Public Health,
Emory University

Screen Shot 2014-04-16 at 11.24.52 AM
Reynaldo Martorell, Phd

Ermory University
1599 Clifton Road NE,
Atlanta, Georgia 30322
Tel: 404-727-9888
Fax: 404-727-9745

President Ibrahim Elmadfa
Immediate-Past- President Dr. Ibrahim Elmadfa

Institute of Nutritional Sciences
University of Vienna
Althanstrasse 14 (Pharmaziezentrum)
A-1090 Vienna
Tel: 43-1-4277-54901 Fax: 43-1-4277-9549


Inmediate-Past-Secretary General Prof. Rekia Belahsen

Training and Research Unit on Nutrition
& Food Sciences
Chouaib Doukkali University
School of Sciences
El Jadida, 24000
Phone: 212 523 34 2325 /212 664 97 1616
Skype: rekiabelahsen

Fax: 212 523 34 21 87 / 4449

 Past Officers

Year  Elected President  Secretary General  Treasurer
1946  E.J. Bigwood (Belgium)   Leslie J. Harris (UK)
1952  E.J. Bigwood (Belgium)   Leslie J. Harris (UK)
1954  E.J. Bigwood (Belgium)   Leslie J. Harris (UK)
1957  E.J. Bigwood (Belgium)   Leslie J. Harris (UK)
1960  D.P. Cuthbertson (UK)   M. van Eekelen (Netherlands)
1963  D.P. Cuthbertson (UK)  H. Gournelle de Pontanel (France)  P.K. Roine (Finland)
1966  C.G. King (USA)  R. Ammon (FRG)  P.K. Roine (Finland)
1969  P.K. Roine (Finland)   J.C. Somogyi (Switzerland)  J.A.B. Smith (UK)
1972  C. den Hartog (Netherlands)   B. Isaksson (Sweden)  J.A.B. Smith (UK)
1975  C. Gopalan (India)  B. Isaksson (Sweden)  J.A. Campbell (Canada)
1978  N.S. Scrimshaw (USA)  Dorothy F. Hollingsworth (UK)  J.A. Campbell (Canada)
1981  R. Buzina (Yugoslavia) Dorothy F. Hollingsworth (UK)  J.A. Campbell (Canada)
1985 M.K. Gabr (Egypt)   J.G.A.J. Hautvast (Netherlands)  E. Menden (Germany)
1989  J.E. Dutra de Oliveira (Brazil)   J.G.A.J. Hautvast (Netherlands)  E. Menden (Germany)
1993  A. Valyasevi (Thailand)   J.G.A.J. Hautvast (Netherlands)  E. Menden (Germany)
1997  B. Underwood (USA)  O. Galal (Egypt)  C. Leitzmann (Germany)
2001  M. Wahlqvist (Australia)  O. Galal (Egypt)  C. Leitzmann (Germany)
2005  R. Uauy (Chile)  O. Galal (Egypt)  S. Murphy (USA)


Nominating Committee

The twelveth General Assembly during the 19th International Congress of Nutrition in Bangkok, Thailand elected Dr. Ricardo Uauy, Immediate Past President, Chairman of the Nominating Committee.  Eight Adhering Bodies will be elected at the first IUNS Council meeting, each to designate a member of the Nominating Committee.


Representatives to External Groups

World Health Organization (WHO)

Headquarters: Geneva Ibrahim Elmadfa
 African Regional Office Anna Lartey
 European Regional Office Ibrahim Elmadfa
 Eastern Mediterranean Regional Office Ibrahim Elmadfa
 Americas Regional Office and Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)  Suzanne Murphy
 South-East Asian Regional Office Xiaoguang Yang
 Western Pacific Regional Office Emorn Wasantwisut

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)

Headquarters: Pamplona, Spain J. Alfredo Martínez

United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF)

Headquarters: California, USA Lindsay Allen
NGO Committee Lindsay Allen

International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU)

ICSU General Assembly and General Committee Ibrahim Elmadfa
Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA) Ibrahim Elmadfa
Committee on Science and Technology in Developing Countries (COSTED) Rekia Belahsen
Committee on the Teaching of Science (CTS)
International Council for Laboratory Animal Science (ICLAS)
Inter-Union Commission on the Application of Science to Agriculture, Forestry, and Aquaculture (CASAFA) Malgorzata Schlegel-Zawadska
International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC)
Electronic Publishing (ICSU Press)
United Nations University (UNU)
International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST) V. Prakash
Administrative Committee on Coordination/Subcommittee on Nutrition Ibrahim Elmadfa
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
Council for International Organizations of Medical Sciences